No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2012-08-05, 3:56am
shirts

Default removing a cabochon

Hello folks with all kinds of tips and support!

I decided to make a couple of cabochons the other day - I have been SO excited trying that out!! Now I am stuck with 2 (not so great) cabs that are kind of stuck... I am not thrilled with the bead release (just using whatever I got from the person who sold me her lampworking studio) and have battled with getting beads off. Now I wonder if there are any tricks to get off the cabs... Prying with a butter knife (after a loooooong hot soak)? Screwdriver? I am not overly attached to either of these cabs (I used turquoise which was a mistake cause I am not that good with glass to remember that I had to be careful that it might get some grey patches so they are "factory seconds" - though I am hardly a factory!!).

Any thoughts would be great, as I would rather not end up with 2 expensive practice cabs (cause I have lost the mandrels!).

Thanks,
Annie.
Old 2012-08-05, 4:29am
Loving learning

If worst comes to worst, you can heat the glass and shock it off by dropping the hot glass on the mandrel in water. At least, that's what I would do on a normal mandrel, and would guess it would work the same? I've never seen a cab mandrel.

I would heat them in the kiln first next time you turn it on, then slowly move them into the flame to get them nice & glowing before quenching in the water bath.
Old 2012-08-05, 4:31am

I prise mine off with a butter knife if the bead release is holding strong. So far I haven't lost a cab or damaged the cab mandrel.

Good luck!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

You can't shine if you don't burn