Lampwork Etc.

Send a PM to CorriDawn!

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2013-08-14, 7:47am

Default Shifting COEs and garage temp

I'm a newbie. I make little monster sculptures because: 1) they make me happy, and 2) they're more forgiving (mistakes add character).

Anyway, I have so many questions, but for now I'll try to limit it to these 3:

1) I've read that if you work some of the boro colors too hot or for too long, you can actually shift the COE and cause compatibility issues (spidery looking cracks that happen in the kiln). I think I'm having this problem (I must learn patience and turn down the heat). My question is, are there obvious signs that you're working your glass too hot and/or for too long? For example, I've noticed that I've been boiling some of my colors (orange and yellow in particular). This boiling is probably causing the glass to shift COEs isn't it?

2) Pieces that you take out of the kiln that have the spidery looking compatibility cracks, can those be melted back down into blobs and made into something else? Or should that glass be thrown in the trash because the COE has been altered, and will stay altered even if I completely melt it down and rework it?

3) I've been garaging and annealing at 1050. I was having some issues with some green glass and a very helpful person here mentioned that green needs to be garaged at a lower temperature. So, I'm wondering if I should change my garage temp to 950 for all things? If so, once I'm done garaging and ready to anneal, do I just ramp up AFAP to 1050 and then anneal as usual?

Thanks in advance for any help. You guys are awesome and I've learned so much from your posts and advice.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GTT Mirage - tanked oxygen & propane