No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2020-05-08, 3:37am
Nick

Default Newbie, don’t want to explode

Hello, so I’m new to lampworking and have been taking the extra time I have to really get into it. I just set up my Spartan torch, (after a lot of trouble). Now my issue is my torch is not turning blue, I turn on the gas. It doesn’t stay lit half of the time and when I finally get it lit no matter how much oxy I add the flame does not turn blue and small. It remains at about seven inches with a noticeable flame at the tip.
I have been using a hot head until now and have not been able to successfully get a gather with either the spartan or the hot head. With 33 or 104. The 104 was a little easier but still no father. I tried different settings but mainly I did 20-25psi oxy and 10-15 psi propane.

Why is the torch not staying lit? Why is the propane flame not constant when regulator seems fine? Why when I add oxy does it not turn the flame into a sharp blue flame. Why does nothing ever work?! Why doesn’t it work like it does in the movies?!?!

Thanks in advance, this is a great board, I’ve learned so much already. I wish I had found this board PRIOR to investing $130 in a spartan. (Which is even $30 higher than retail!!!)
Old 2020-05-08, 7:37am

Welcome! Sorry, I don't know anything about Spartan torches, but it is possible your regulators are not set to provide a neutral or oxygenated flame. If it is anything like the torches I have used, I set my propane at 3-4 psi. 10-15 sounds way high. I use concentrators though. I have never tried to melt boro on a Hothead, but 104 should work just fine.
Old 2020-05-08, 8:19am