LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2012-02-05, 10:17am

Question Are there tricks for seeing design when working?

Yep. I'm a newbie! I can't 'see' where to add dots in my implosion efforts. I realize I could use contrasting light/dark colors but am trying to do subtle colors. I have the same problem seeing where to poke flowers unless I'm using glass that contrasts when hot.

I had good success with j2canoe's little implosion tut except when I try the suggested purple transparent base, dark blue pastel (opaque), purple, aqua transparent, and light pink pastel. I could not see my dots to add the next row! I tried leaving them slightly raised instead of melting flat. It only worked for one row as they melted in as I proceeded to the next row. The whole process worked great... I just couldn't line things up.

Do any of you have tricks you'd like to share for identifying design elements when working your bead?
Old 2012-02-05, 10:26am
Tweedle Dumb

Are you using didy glasses or tinted glasses or any kind of soda flare reducing safety glasses? Those help.

They are all going to be shades of orange when they are hot, but they should show a little more when it is not molten. Take it out of the flame, let it cool a bit, get an idea of where you are at in the design then continue on.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<Click For My Latest Murrini!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<Click! For Pandora Style Beads!
Old 2012-02-05, 10:58am