LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2011-02-26, 10:14pm

Default Is this a good deal to buy??? HELP!!

Hello everyone! I am new to lampworking. I am currently looking for the "to good to pass up deal" to get me started. So here is what I have found for sale. I was looking ofr advice as to what it is worth and what I should offer to pay for it. They want $650.00. Here is what they are selling....

*1 Nortel Major Torch (2 torches in 1!)Purchased brand new. It has very, very few usage hours.

*1 5 ft. Oxygen Tank (1/4 full)

*1 Propane Tank (1/2 full)

*Brand new gauges

*2 15-20ft. Air Hoses

*1 Jen-Ken Table Kiln (temp reader is broken, but works perfect at setting 9)- GS Fuse kiln. It was purchased second hand. I will throw in a 70$ internal thermometer that I never installed

*1 Glass Bead tutorial DVD

*Extra Glass tubes, color rods & tools laying around.

So what do ya'll think?

Last edited by TabathaD; 2011-02-27 at 9:52am. Reason: Added selling price the seller wants to post
Old 2011-02-26, 10:17pm

I would guess any where between $750 would be a great deal and $900-1000 would still be OK depending on the glass or tools

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2011-02-26, 10:28pm
Ad astra per aspera

1. Ask what kind of glass they're selling. "Tubes" sounds to me like it might be boro. If that's what you want to get started on, cool, but you should know what you're getting because it will affect how you work it and anneal it.