LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2010-04-23, 6:35am

Default I am at a loss - cracking beads??

I'm hoping someone may be able to shed some light on my cracking beads issue.

I've been making beads for 5 years so I'm fairly confident that I'm not doing anything different to what I've been doing.

I'll run through what's happened so far - all beads were placed in kiln straight away:

1. made 11 nugget beads with CIM kryptonite base encased with Vetrofond clear - every one of them cracked vertically down the mandrel line. I've used this combination before with no problems but assuming it was the CIM that was the culprit as I know CIM doesn't like to be encased.

2. nugget with CIM kryptonite encased in transparent light emerald - cracked down mandrel line - assuming again the CIM was the problem.

3. made 5 lentils with vetrofond clear swirled with Effetre turquoise, cobalt and a little nile green - 2 of them cracked down the mandrel line.

This seems like a thermal issue to me but I've checked the kiln schedule and nothing has changed.

So I did some more test beads -

4. Vetrofond clear swirled with a tiny amount of Effetre turquoise - a small vertical crack through the turquoise bit.

5. ivory nugget encased with Vetrofond clear - no cracks as yet.

So thinking maybe the kiln has a problem I thought I'd try cooling with vermiculite. Made several nuggets again with the kryptonite/clear - all cracked. Also made 2 nuggets with effetre turquoise swirled with Vetrofond clear - both cracked. Probably not a good test though as pressed beads don't do well in vermiculite.