LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Old 2008-04-26, 6:50am

Default I'm Buying a Dual Fuel

Hello,

I need a little guidance, reccomendations, product knowledge or whatever you would like to call it.

I have been using a HH for about 2 months and I am ready to move on to a dual fuel. I here and read about all of these brands and shapes but I could I have know idea which is good, bad, or indifferent. Here are the parameters I would like to use in selecting a torch and if any of you can tell me what you know, I would appreciate it.

Price $150 to $250

I want to make small, med, and large soft glass beads

Would like to try some boro if possible

I will use propane / oxygen, maybe NG but not sure at this point

I would like to stay away from a "gas hog" so if there is one that conserves on fuel that would be great

Any other suggestions, comments, or knowledge would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Todd
Old 2008-04-26, 7:03am

Good thread...I'm in the same boat and have been looking at a GTT Bobcat......Sent them an email for information, we'll see what happens....

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2008-04-26, 7:22am

Hi Todd,
I'm pretty new to this also and I'm no expert, but I'll tell you want I did.

I looked at all the high priced torches and I'm sure they have there merits, but I went with a National 8M. EBay for $100 used and it's great.

I use it for soft glass and boro glass. The best part about the 8M is that you can change tips and switch it from pre mix to surface mix with a $40 adapter
which I got for $25 on ebay. I pick-up a set of new regs on ebay for $100 and got a T grade hose set local for $30.