No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2008-07-09, 2:44pm
Flamewoman

Default Ever "REALLY" burn yourself?

Boy I did it today. I was making a boro seastar that I coat with fine clear frit, heating and dipping it in the frit. Somehow in this I passed my hand thru the flame, WHAT a dumb ass. I burned my little finger all down the side and just a smidge on the next to it finger. My hand was on fire! Crap! It didn't even hurt ( then ) it felt cold. Wow. Now it hurts, like bad. I took myself to emergency, they said 2nd and maybe a little 3rd but mostly "just" 2nd degree burns. They gave me a precript for Silver sulfadiazine cream and put some on it there and said to keep it bandaged for 10 days.

I've been lampworking for 3+ years & done some little pick up a hot tool or rod things to my fingers, but this is far beyond that. Have any of you done something like this? How long did it take to heal? I can tell it will be a while before I can torch again.
I'm bummed. Be careful out there. I thought I was careful,
but not careful enough it seems.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never
know how soon it will be too late.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PLEASE like my page!

Last edited by Mary K; 2008-07-10 at 7:52pm. Reason: spelling
Old 2008-07-09, 2:54pm
Ass-kicking Cephalopod