Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2008-04-02, 2:20pm
Does my glass look 2 big?

Default In line Fan? Squirrel Cage Fan?

I am a newbie setting up a Mega Minor and upgrading my vent system. Now I have the fan box in window set up, I know it's not correct so I am buying pieces and parts to set up properly.

I purchased this in line fan
http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...ctId=100396544

But now I am wondering whether it's OK or if I should better return it and get a squirrel cage fan.
If so, can someone show me a link of where I can order one?

Not sure which one I need, I'd appreciate suggestions.

I don't torch very often but I am liking silver foil and probably can see me liking enamels soon. On the other hand I torch maybe 2-4 hours a week if I'm lucky.

Thank you so much for any help!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2008-04-02, 5:09pm
Gentleman of Leisure

Can you give the brand name and model number?.... If its a duct booster fan, its not going to be enough to provide adequate ventilation. IF it is a true 500cfm fan it may be enough depending on what you use for a hood and ducting....

Not the best design with the plastic blades, but it could be acceptable...

Dale

Vendor-Artist-Studio-Teacher Registry

San Francisco - A Few Toys Short of a Happy Meal
Old 2008-04-02, 6:42pm

Thank you Dale.
The maker is Suncourt, model DB208 500 CFM (I made sure not to pick to one that had the word "booster")
My set up will be a booth type, the hood is 24" x 24", it's a diffuser but looks just like a hood, will only be using the hood part. The actual booth will be 32" wide x 24" deep I feel I need a bit more elbow room.

I plan on making the booth about 20" high.