No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2016-06-23, 7:52am

Angry Fustrating Problem

Hi Everyone,

I have a problem. I'm getting black streaks on my beads. I am a newbie for sure but the first few I made didn't have a problem with black streaks. Just to test again I tried to make a plain white bead. Talk about ugly. I have a beginners set up with Fireworks torch.

Thanks in advance
Old 2016-06-23, 9:01am
Phill

Work further out from the flame.

The black is soot from unburnt fuel so the glass is not far enough from the brass cone to let the fuel burn properly.

Most folks have this problem when first starting out.

The first 5 beads are great and then your mind starts getting interested in what is going on with the molten glass and it is very easy to begin to think it needs to be closer to the flame to get more heat into it so it moves just that little bit faster.

Beads 6 through 12 leave you wondering what has changed to start getting the black smut mixed in.

Beads 13 through 20 are what you make while you wait for your two gas torch to arrive in the mail.

Some use white glass to practice melting to find the sweet spot just outside of the blue cone where it is hot enough to melt the glass without getting the soot on it.

If you do some searches for the word "soot" and / or "unburnt" you will find all kinds of discussions about others just getting started in this addiction.

By the way another search for "fireworks torch" will point to conversations about how much some folks hate that particular torch and some of the problems they have had with it.
Old 2016-06-23, 9:22am

Default Thank You So Much

Your right on all counts and I am looking into a hot head torch. Thanks for the useful info.

Debra - in bright sunny Syracuse, NY
Old 2016-06-23, 11:53am

Phill is right (as usual)