Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2019-01-08, 1:24am

Default A concentrator question

Hello everyone)
I am pretty new to lampworking, just have some experience with soft glass. But I am dreaming of tube implosions and fuming
I work on Mega Minor torch and 5 lpm oxygen concentrator. The question is - will i be able to try working with boro tubes on it or the second concentrator is necessary?
And how to bake boro glass in the kiln? Sorry if my questions are stupid, just couldn't find the answers here
Old 2019-01-08, 11:44pm

You will probably need two. It will still be slow. Bottled would be better. https://www.nortelglass.com/torches-choices.shtml

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2019-02-03, 11:45am

I have a gtt bobcat with the same dreams of implosions as you, lol.I use 3 5lpm at 4lpm each max, total of 12 lpm when fulled ppened oxygen. i can burn 16mm rod quick, but if you have 2 you should be great or 1 10lpm. Check the torches spec, i also have tanked but that goes quick, so unless if im doing something specific that need tank o2 ill use that but 2 5 LPM should be fine when i have 3 on it rips up boro

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Old 2019-02-03, 6:45pm
Loving learning

And you anneal boro at 1050°, and remember the rule about thickness, so marbles for example you need to add time. I think it is 15 minutes per 1/4" of thickness, but I am not sure.
Old 2019-02-03, 8:26pm

I can't find any numbers from Nortel but here is a nice table of bench torch oxygen requirements: https://artistryinglass.on.ca/charts...ortorches.html
Old 2019-03-04, 3:57pm
Bkingery