Lampwork Etc.

TrueDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2009-06-20, 6:51pm
Resident Luny

Default Northstar

I went there Friday to get a little stash of seconds to practice with, since I am new to boro. I called to see how buying seconds worked for a local person like me. Not only did they tell me how I could get seconds from them, even though they don't have a storefront, Nancy invited me to take a little tour and meet everyone and see how they make their rods. I didn't know they were handpulled vs. machine. Yeah, so that makes them not exact, but that is people working with jobs in this economy. I love the idea and I love every slight wobble in size now.

They have a great collection work done with their glass on a shelf when you walk in. Not only did they sell me my seconds, they gave me a small handful of 6 inch sample rods, so that I can explore more colors and then know what I would like to buy without having to get a whole pound to find out what something does. I also got to see that AWESOME skull chandelier from Vegas, WOW. WOW. WOW.

Anyway. Just stating, Northstar was way more than I expected and I was thrilled to meet them. It makes experimenting with boro even more fun, knowing the family behind the glass. I wanted to use their glass because it was local, but that was just the tip of the iceberg for me, now.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- artisan lampwork beads, jewelry, and a little bit of rock n' roll.

Be kind to one another. The world needs it more than ever.
Old 2009-06-20, 9:49pm