Lampwork Etc.

TrueDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2009-07-18, 7:09pm

Default Losing Color in Implosions

I'm a boro newbie and I've tried to find the answer to my question on LE and elsewhere with no luck. I'm sure it's something so obvious that I'll be smacking my head and saying, "Well, of course!"

I'm doing implosions using frit, DAP or Triple Passion and I'm losing all the color. I get just a washed out tan color. At first I thought it was simply that the frit wasn't able to give me the depth of color that a rod would so I starting really layering the frit. I get it smokin' hot, cool below glow, then burn of the haze and then start imploding. Am I over-striking (is that possible with the AP colors?).

I'm on a bobcat with propane and an M-15 so it takes awhile to do implosions. I'm wondering if I'm just holding it at a temperature that kills the color while I do the implosion.

Any suggestions or thoughts would be appreciated! Oh, I have another 15lpm oxy-con coming on Monday so maybe that will help...?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Angela Kane

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-One of a kind boro frit blends!
Old 2009-07-18, 7:27pm

Sounds like it's not staying hot enough while you're imploding to keep the color. a second oxycon should certainly help!
Old 2009-07-18, 8:24pm
In search of her path....

Yea your just not getting the glass hot enough down to the core after the implosion. Its really really hard to do on a small torch though not impossible but I was NEVER able to get consistant results on smaller torches. When I had my Cheetah and liquid o2 yea you could rock out the color. Its all about the heat.