Lampwork Etc.

Send a PM to CorriDawn!

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2008-04-23, 9:58am
"Sinners have soul too"

Default Ready for a new torch...

Okay, so I'm fairly new to the boro, but I'm feeling a little hindered by the Mini CC (tanked oxy)... and I'm thinking of getting a bigger torch. So far the beads I've been making are 10-15mm, I would like to make bigger beads but it seems like it would just take forever with the Mini.
I'm really just making beads and I'm thinking of doing anything sculptural. Any suggestions?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2008-04-23, 10:07am

I haven't used a Mini-cc (though I've used a Minor, Bobcat, Lynx, Beth Bead Burner and now have a Barracuda) but it seems like if you are using tanked oxygen for beads it might not be necessary to get a new torch already. Sometimes people just need to turn the torch up higher or work closer to the torch face to speed things up.
Flame on,
Anita
www.fireflybeads.com
Old 2008-04-23, 10:09am
"Sinners have soul too"

I'll try that today, thanks!

Old 2008-04-23, 2:11pm
Corgi Cult Member

Donna, Sleekbeads (Jo) even makes marbles with her Mini and one oxycon. Shoot her a message if you have a question how far the torch can be pushed, I'm sure she'd be glad to answer. Oh, she makes great implosions on it too!

One more thought, you can pull in much tighter to the candles when doing boro compared to soft glass. So if you try cranking it up and pulling in tighter, you should melt the boro faster. Gotta watch those mandrels though, they melt pretty fast.

Last edited by artwhim; 2008-04-23 at 2:13pm. Reason: Another thought