Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2015-03-14, 7:36am

Default Fuming help?

Hi guys! I'm hoping someone can help me out.
I've been fuming for about six months now. I have no problem getting silver to spit off onto glass, but for some reason, it takes me forever to get even the slightest bit of gold. I've tried looking around on some threads, but I haven't found the answer to my problem so far.
Any tips?
Old 2015-03-14, 8:32pm
kinda torching....

Try fuming a tiny bit of silver befpre gold and make sure the glass is nice and hot when fumin the gold pr it wont stick. it also helps to wave your fuming metals in and out of the flame a little bit. You want it hot but not completely boiling the metals

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2015-03-14, 9:23pm
He can do the origami

I have a question before I can answer. You say you can get silver to "spit" onto the glass. Do you mean getting tiny bits of glass to form on the piece you are fuming? And if that is what you mean, are you trying to get gold to do the same? Form small bits of gold onto the surface you are fuming?

Otter
Old 2015-03-15, 7:45pm
DaveK

What kind of torch are you using?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
You can call me Dave 🎨
Old 2015-05-02, 6:18am

Sorry about the late response, guys. Ended up having surgery after posting that..i've been out on commission.

'Spit' wasn't the right word, my bad. I just meant that when I try to fume silver onto glass, it's so much more willing than gold! lol. HOWEVER, i've improved on my ability to fume gold since then. My issue right now is different..hopefully someone will be able to help me out.