No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2009-03-31, 4:01pm
I practice alchemy!

Default barrel beads

I've been making round beads for the most part since I started torching and now I'm getting somewhat bored with layered dots and want to expand my abilities. I've been trying to make barrel beads and like so many other things that just sound so simple--"Roll your barrel bead on the marver a few times until it's the right shape"--it's not really that easy. Since I'm just learning, how long can I realistically expect to spend on one bead? And how do I not get bursting bubbles? I know I need lots of practise. Oh, and is there an easier glass to use for practice? I've used ivory and also periwinkle for a base.

Celeste
Old 2009-03-31, 4:19pm
No Problem!

There are a couple of ways to build a barrel bead..
You can make separate coils, like three beads, close together then heat and marver until they meet.
Or you can coil the glass continuously like a snake, lift the back end of the rod up and heat so when you're laying down the glass you don't trap air. You want it hot enough to flow as it goes on, but you also want to kind of continously mush it as you go to keep from trapping air. There are lots of variations on those methods for getting the glass on without trapping bubbles but that's a basic start.
The continuous method is much faster and will usually give you less trouble, it just takes a little more practice to keep the air out.
Get a nice symmetrical cylinder then add glass, mostly towards the center to build it to the size you want.