Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2009-07-30, 3:41pm

Default Help with Boro Beads

I've been torching for about 3 years now, and decided to try boro beads - and need some advise on converting from soft to boro. Here's what I've come up with today....besides burning my mandrels off right before the bead is done, and loosing the whole bead, I have the following problems.

1. Beads on left - NS28 Blue Exotic Wavey bead - I'm finding that my encasing seems to be cracking every 3rd bead.....and seem to be waiting an eternity for the clear encasing to melt down to the sides.

2. White base with NS03 mixed, encased. I got tired of having the clear spread over to the ends, so decided to try spiral encasing - and tried heating from the left to the right to get rid of what I think is trapped air - and it doesn't seem to be working. Any tips on how to encase - do you let the glass flow - slower than molasses in January, or do you move the glass along with some sort of tool?

3. Next beads are blue base with double amber/purple frit - trapped air, again, I think

4. The last set of beads are double amber/purple frit dipped in clear, then wound into a bead. Pretty easy - I got some red, but seem to have a problem getting blue/purple.

all help is appreciated.
Thanks
Jeannie

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2009-07-30, 4:02pm
Spoiled

There are some colors that don't like to be encase, that could be why the ones are cracking.