No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2010-11-09, 1:19pm
Total Noob

Default Starter Glass

So I'm just starting out in glass- I just bought a torch and all the tools I need from a very kind member of this forum, so now I just need to get an oxygen tank and a regulator and.... some glass.

Now I'm on a bit of a budget (isn't everybody!) and I'm just starting out, so I don't want to buy a huge quantity of really nice expensive glass that I'm going to turn into mountains and mountains of fugly beads as I get my feet underneath me, but I also don't want to paint myself into a corner of buying a bunch of glass that I can't use later. I figure I've got about $50 or so to spend.

I saw a list of starter glass elsewhere on this forum, but it's really too much glass for me- I'm just looking for a first batch to start melting up and making mistakes with. Right now Frantz Glass has a sale on Messy Color assortments- I was thinking about picking up a few of those, some Moretti clear (or super clear), black, and white.

Alternately the Devardi glass looks interesting and I've seen some sample packs that would fit into my budget.

Any suggestions? Anything I'm not thinking about that I'll want as soon as I sit down to the torch?
Old 2010-11-09, 1:28pm
I fart diamonds

Don't buy a starter pack. Create your own. Get some clear, black, white, red, blue, ivory, brown or whatever colors you like. Starting out, I suggest never more than 1/4lb of any color other than 1lb each clear, black & white. You'll likely use more of those than anything.

Devardi is a great beginner glass and the price is right. They also have some gorgeous colors. Working with it, you'll learn patience, for sure.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.