Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2009-01-31, 2:54am

Default Hothead issues

hey! I'm having issues with my new hothead. It makes the colours go black! Im quite new to this so Im wondering are there anytips someone could give me?
thanks! shell
Old 2009-01-31, 7:31am
You can call me Slater

I'm guessing you have the gas up too high.

Lite your torch, let it run for a few seconds, then adjust your flame. Work your glass mid-flame or a little higher.

Hope this works for you.
Old 2009-01-31, 8:13am

Move AWAY from the torch

Seriously--you're shoving the beads way too close to the torch head & frying the heck out of your glass.

Go visit www.nlcbeads.com & click on her "tutorials" link--she's got a LOVELY little diagram on there of EXACTLY WHERE you should be in the hothead flame to make pretty beads (and...she's a hothead teacher )

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

new purple cricket @ home! minicc @ playing with fire in rockland! Sue & Nikki fighting over who gets to anneal the wonkies
Old 2009-01-31, 8:19am
Never give up

I also on a hot head torch and a newbie. I had problems a couple of time with my beads turning black. One issue was the gas, I was using my exchange tank from my gas grill. Bad idea, as the nice guys told me from Indiana oxygen and Sundance. You have no idea what people do with those tanks. They suggested I buy a new tank and have it filled. I started doing that the difference was amazing. First bead with the new tank was great.