Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2007-08-03, 8:15am
Mary Lockwood

Default Where to buy da tubing?

Ok, so I'm a boro noob.

I've been playing around a bit with a ziploc bag of shorts I received as an raogk. My bag is getting low. I also had 4 already blown points of I'd say about 15mm thin wall. That was the size of the bubble shaped tube in the middle of the point. (sorry I don't know the names for stuff yet)

These points were also a gift and were meant for blowing christmas ornaments but I used them for pendants. They are all gone and I want more tubing so I can pull some points of my own. Or at least try to.

Problem is, I've never actually purchased boro for myself, rod or tubing. I don't know where to buy or even WHAT to buy. The rod bit I can figure out...but if I mainly want to do tube implosions and other pendants out of tubing...what size and wall thickness do you recommend for a beginner?

I like to end up with pendants in the 25-30mm range. I don't do marbles yet. So...what should I buy and where should I get it?

thanks in advance.
~~Mary

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2007-08-03, 8:17am
Mary Lockwood

OH, I should probably mention I'm on a minor with an oxycon. I don't have a fire breathing dragon in my studio so don't scare me. hehe.

Old 2007-08-03, 9:06am
William Hagy

Depends on what you care to use.....pyrex is made by Corning which is owned by the DOW chemical corp. and is not that great if you asked me..... I use Schott Duran and its kinds spendy compared to others......check out ABR for some good prices on single tubes etc...