LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tutorials

Old 2010-09-16, 9:52am

Default A Tutorial on... Tutorials

I've been an editor for HGTV. It was my job to clean up tuts and so... I felt the need to write this:

A Guide for Writing Tutorials

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2010-09-16, 10:07am
Storm Queen

Wow, I don't even know what to say.

Old 2010-09-16, 10:09am

Oooh... is that good or bad??? My intention was to be helpful..

Old 2010-09-16, 10:17am

I enjoyed reading it. I didn't fully agree on the "get to the point" until you mentioned putting a tip section at the end for more beginner level people.
Old 2010-09-16, 10:20am

The get to the point part actually came about after reading a free tut posted here. We work with FIRE.. having paper nearby isn't exactly... safe. And the writer took 62 words to say what boiled down to:

Melt frit. Spot heat. Chill with brass marver.

62 words!!!! Really!????!!!

I often take my tuts and copy and paste the pics into a file and re-write the copy for soemthing smaller / quicker to glance at while at the torch.

Old 2010-09-16, 10:30am
Mary Lockwood

I didn't quit making beads so I could sell tutorials. I wrote tutorials because the beads quit selling. LOL I'm not making less beads because I'm trying to sell my signature (I dislike that phrase) bead tutorial. I'm making fewer beads for personal reasons.