AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Old 2005-12-09, 8:17pm

Default What should I buy?

Hello, I am a newbie and do not own anything except books. I have been reserching everything and I have a headache trying to figure out what to buy. As far as a torch goes the Bobcat has been suggested. What are your thoughts on a torch for a beginner. Also the kiln question. I plan on doing beads to sell with my jewlery but do not know what the future will bring. I see a lot of you use the 'toolbox' kiln. Thoughts? Now the oxygen concentrator. There are so many out there I am most confussed on this purchase. Thanks for your help and comments. Rita in AZ
Old 2005-12-09, 9:12pm

A Mini cc is a real good torch,it has good radiant heat so you won't have as many beads brake when you are working and you can do some Boro.
as for a Kiln,It's better to have a fire brick lined kiln so even if the power goes out while you are working your beads will be ok.A tool box will cool too fast if the power is lost.
A concentrator,it's a good idea to get one with a worranty and at least 5 LPM.
G.L.
Old 2005-12-09, 9:29pm

Depends on the money you have to spend. I still have a HH, but needed a kiln to feel secure selling my beads. Pick and choose...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
~:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
:~
~:
:~ Nikki ~:

~:

"...living hopefully ever after..." -john lennon
Old 2005-12-09, 10:06pm
Entropy increasing....

I have a Minor Bench burner. I have never used anything else. It works and it's pretty inexpensive to start out.

When I sell my house I'm getting a really spiffy one.
Old 2005-12-09, 10:25pm
One Crazy Mama

Hi Rita, welcome!

Where in AZ are you?