Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2008-08-22, 7:32pm

Question Lung Health

Asthmatic newbie here, trying to learn everything I can about keeping my lungs as healthy as possible, because I'm already soooo addicted.

I'm hoping someone can point me towards a decent respirator. I know from searching the forum that a lot of people don't use them (even if they have them), but I'm not taking chances. I haven't used frit or enamel or any respirator worthy substances yet, but I know I will and I want to be ready. Can anyone recommend a quality respirator (most important) that's not exceedingly cumbersome (as a secondary concern)?

Also, I read in another thread about someone on the forum retiring after 17 years due to bleeding lungs. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/sh...9&postcount=24) ...Uh, is this a common experience??? I'm tending to think that there are probably additional factors here but, as an asthmatic, I have good reason to be paranoid. Are there any of you here that have been doing this for 20 years or more who are still breathing clear?

And before I get the ventilation lecture, which even I would give me, I'm working on it and looking to make a funnel type system. In the mean time I have a heavy duty exhaust fan in front of my torch, a clean-air fan blowing from behind me, and I don't work at my torch for more than thirty minutes at a time, usually only a day or two a week. It's driving me crazy to limit myself, but I'm trying to watch out for my lungs ...and I'm fully aware that I really shouldn't torch at all until I have really excellent ventilation in place, but some days I just can't help myself. A respirator would be especially helpful as an immediate safety measure while I build my ventilation system. I do know how very important that is.