Lampwork Etc.
 
Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat


Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Caber Light


 

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > The Dark Room

The Dark Room -- Photo Editing and Picture Taking. Advice, tutorials, questions on all things photoshop, photo editing, and taking pictures of beads or glass.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2011-07-17, 12:58pm
glasslass2's Avatar
glasslass2 glasslass2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 25, 2009
Location: Southeast MI
Posts: 570
Default Canon Powershot S2-can't format memory card

Bought a used Canon power shot S2 off e-bay. I can't seem to be able to format the memory card and I've tried a universal and a Canon type. When I scroll to the "format" mode it won't let me select it. Anyone have any suggestions?
__________________
Kat

My Ebay
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by glasslass2; 2011-07-17 at 1:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2011-07-18, 3:28am
navarre navarre is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 04, 2005
Posts: 102
Default

how big is your memory card?

If I remember correctly you cant use 4GB or larger cards as the camera wasnt made to support these larger sizes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2011-07-18, 10:53am
glasslass2's Avatar
glasslass2 glasslass2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 25, 2009
Location: Southeast MI
Posts: 570
Default

Thanks Navarre. I'm finding that out. Just ordered a two GB, maybe that will work.
Thanks for responding.
__________________
Kat

My Ebay
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2011-07-19, 2:43pm
Alaska Alaska is offline
Alaska Boro
 
Join Date: Dec 10, 2009
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,056
Default

Some cameras will only accept a 2 GB SD card. While others that have this limitation will play well with the newer SDHC cards.

Have a Canon Power Shot A710 IS that is working well with a 8 GB SDHC card. i.e. an upgrade from the older standard SD 512 Meg card.

Also check the net for your model and its requirements for memory.

And you can test your present card in another camera or take a look at its file structure by using your computer. Try writing a file to the card and then reading it, etc. i.e. any file including Word, text, jpg etc will work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2011-08-07, 9:10pm
Leanne's Avatar
Leanne Leanne is offline
Formerly Fireflyartglass
 
Join Date: Feb 18, 2006
Location: Canberra, the capital of Australia!
Posts: 791
Default

maybe the memory card is empty already?
__________________
On a midrange/minor with bottled oxy!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2011-08-09, 1:43pm
glasslass2's Avatar
glasslass2 glasslass2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 25, 2009
Location: Southeast MI
Posts: 570
Default

Thanks Leanne, both memory cards were new. I found out this camera won't take more than a 2 GB card. So it's all good now. Thanks to all who answered.
__________________
Kat

My Ebay
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2011-09-21, 12:04pm
goldenearring goldenearring is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 20, 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nancynelson10 View Post
Incase your camera doesn’t take more than 2 GB. I suggest that you use 1 GB memory and keep another one as spare. Having excess of memory makes an adverse effect on the quality of the camera.
I agree with Nancy here, when you can give your camera that extra gig to work with the results always seem to come out a little bit better. Funny that they shipped you an incompatible memory card with the camera though. Maybe next time you should read some line reviews to figure out which camera shop to use. Have you used angies list for online reviews ever?

Last edited by goldenearring; 2011-10-01 at 2:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2011-09-21, 2:32pm
Alaska Alaska is offline
Alaska Boro
 
Join Date: Dec 10, 2009
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nancynelson10 View Post
Having excess of memory makes an adverse effect on the quality of the camera.
Would like to learn something new here. Please tell me how "Having excess of memory makes an adverse effect on the quality of the camera". Inquiring minds want to know.....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2011-10-03, 11:09am
Dragonharper's Avatar
Dragonharper Dragonharper is offline
Now part of the Dark Side
 
Join Date: Jul 02, 2010
Location: North Central PA
Posts: 966
Default

Ditto, that doesn't make any sense to me at all. The memory card just stores the image. Any memory the camera needs to process and format the image is contained inside the camera.
__________________
Roy
Hot glass does not crack.
Unless it is glowing and drippy, hot glass looks like cold glass.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2011-10-05, 9:02am
Dale M.'s Avatar
Dale M. Dale M. is offline
Gentleman of Leisure
 
Join Date: Jun 10, 2005
Location: A Little Bit West of Yosemite Valley
Posts: 5,200
Default

Could be quite possibly something in camers software that only allows it to read a certain range or RAM address..... Probably anything beyond a certain range just confuses camera or for cameras purpose the "extra" memory does not exist...

I would check with CANON tech resources to see what they say...

Dale
__________________
You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vendor-Artist-Studio-Teacher Registry

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
San Francisco - A Few Toys Short of a Happy Meal
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Your IP: 100.25.43.188