Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2008-05-28, 11:50am
Oooh...Sparkly!

Default Help - asked to do an outdoor demo!

Help - I've been asked to do demos of lampworking at an outdoor festival and I've never done one before. Heck, my first craft show is this coming Saturday and though I sold antiques and crafts a long time ago I'm a nervous wreck! I've been reading up on advice through the threads about displays and such (fantastic info) but I haven't found anything about safe setups for an outdoor demo.

I'm torn about two things. One - I work on a Carlisle Mini with an O2 concentrator and propane tank. I don't want the safety issues of hauling (not to mention renting) an oxygen tank. So I'm thinking about doing the demo with a Hot Head instead on my propane tank. THoughts?

Two - I won't have a kiln with me and the sponsors really want me to sell right out of the annealing blankets. I know that some folks are okay with using just the blankets but I anneal with my kiln and I'm concerned that these beads would crack shortly down the road, even if they sat for 3 hours before the person picked them up. Has anyone else done this?

Thanks very much for any help on this. I'm figuring on needing a good sturdy table, heat proof surface, plexi shielding, plus my materials. Am I forgetting anything major?

HELP *gulp*

Thanks so much,
Lauren
Old 2008-05-28, 12:09pm
Borovangelist

I think I'd use the "I don't want it to explode and take out your eye" defense when telling the organizers you don't want to sell out of th blankets.