Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2009-02-22, 11:41am
Yell Fire!!!

Default What's your favorite bead-release?

I am totally new to soft glass work and just tried using "Bucket O Mud" as my bead release, and "It Sucks"! They should call that stuff "Bucket O Crap". I couldn't get any of my beads off the mandrel. What are some of your favorite types of bead release to use? What about palladium leaf? Have you ever tried that stuff either? Just curious, thanx!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2009-02-22, 11:46am
Know-it-all Megalomaniac

Fusion.
I swear by it (after trying every brand under the sun - even custom mixed stuff).
Holds the beads like rocks, and comes off easily.

Get your copy of the new Lampwork Etc. Tutorials and Tips Book

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2009-02-22, 11:49am
pyro slacker mom

I use Fusion, but don't know anything else, 'cause it works for me.

Have you tried soaking your mandrels in water before you try to get your beads off?

I bring my stuff in from the kiln and soak my beads in water for at least 30 minutes before I try to remove beads. The 30 minutes is because I have attention issues, and that's about how long it takes me to remember that I have beads to clean.

When you dip your mandrels in and out of the bead release, do so v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y - I don't know why this works, but it does - if I dip fast, then the bead release fails - either craps out on me in the middle of a bead, or I can't get the bead off the mandrel.

Hope this helps,
C

glass color wiki:
Old 2009-02-22, 11:55am

I keep trying different things and end up with Alice's every time! I like it... it works for me!