Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > The Dark Room

The Dark Room -- Photo Editing and Picture Taking. Advice, tutorials, questions on all things photoshop, photo editing, and taking pictures of beads or glass.

Old 2013-01-28, 2:59pm

Default Aging eyes

I used to be an okay photographer, but I just don't trust my eyes anymore. I use the auto focus on my camera, and it looks in focus when I take the photo, but then I open the file and think "YUK"!
I wear my distance lenses when shooting, but wonder if I am looking through them or not. I also have prescription readers and maybe should be wearing those. I just don't know!!

Does anyone have suggestions for taking photos with old, unreliable eyes?

Thanks,
Stef

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2013-01-28, 3:12pm
Loving learning

My camera has a (diopter?) that I can adjust to take pictures without my glasses. I'm not sure if yours has one or not? I do use the auto focus with the indicator of where it is focusing most of the time.
Old 2013-01-28, 3:53pm
Now part of the Dark Side

If the auto focus is working then there are other possibilities for blurry photos. First thing to try is a smaller aperture (larger F stop number) try F8 or F11. Also try using a faster shutter speed, say 250/s or higher. You will probably need more lighting to achieve this. If you are using a DSLR, you are actually looking at something fairly close, try using your readers. You might also want to try placing your camera on a tripod for added stability.
Old 2013-01-28, 5:33pm