Lampwork Etc.

TrueDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2006-03-19, 5:29pm
1st Glass Beads

Default Hot Head really NOT!

Ever have a BAD bead day? Being a newbie, I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I just made 3 bombs. I'm using a HH with 1lb MAPP cylinders and can't seem to get the heat into the glass. I was trying to 'splain to my DH that the cylinder gets cold and then it doesn't heat enough, but I couldn't tell him why. Can anyone help me with an explaination? Thanks
Frustrated in Texas
Old 2006-03-19, 5:39pm
In search of her path....

when the gas leaves the canister in rapid release it supercools and essentially freezes. Then it does not work correctly. Im not sure if im explaining it correctly but I think thats basically what happens.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Prints for sale in my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Old 2006-03-19, 7:42pm
PyronamixK

Be glad that the glass badness is being concentrated into one torching session and is not spread out.

Just curious about the cannister freezing thing... are you shutting the torch off after each bead?
Old 2006-03-19, 7:45pm
1st Glass Beads

Yes, but I was trying to add dichroic to a basic bead and couldn't get the stuff to get soft enought to move. I thought I was doing it like I learned in the class, but maybe I forgot something.
Old 2006-03-19, 7:51pm
just another glass addict

if your canister is getting too cold hold a bowl of warm water (it doesn't even have to be that warm) underneath it.....you'll see the flame get bigger

"Confidence, like art, never comes from having all the answers; it comes from being open to all the questions."
-Earl Gray Stevens-

Old 2006-03-19, 7:53pm
Cheerfully Profane