Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2007-02-27, 10:18am
Detail G-Mama!

Default 2 on one?

So.....I'm finding out that you can't make 2 beads on 1 mandrel! Well maybe you folks that work in boro can, but I'm just learning pretty much! This stuff is a whole different ballgame compared to moretti!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2007-02-27, 10:19am
Safety ALWAYS

Sure you can! It just takes practice!!!!!!!

Chaotic Glass: Safety for the glassworker, and random thoughts and opinions on the state of the glassworking world
Old 2007-02-27, 10:35am

lol, I'm with you, Anne... I'm still practicing getting the ONE bead on the mandrel. I like off-mandrel stuff much better!
Old 2007-02-27, 10:40am
Know-it-all Megalomaniac

You can't make two BIG-honkin beads on a mandrel
but you can sure make a bunch of smaller ones!
Try practicing with spacers and work your way up.

Margaret Zinser taught me a trick that might work for you.
She basically told me to ignore the other beads and just
make the new ones. So instead of flashing all the beads in and
out, I just made one bead and went to the next, and so on and so
on. I got Six on the mandrel and then I popped it into the kiln.
They annealed fine and are still intact on a bracelet over a year now.

Get your copy of the new Lampwork Etc. Tutorials and Tips Book

Old 2007-02-27, 10:53am
Detail G-Mama!