Lampwork Etc.
 
Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat


The Flow

Beads of Courage


 

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2020-05-29, 7:44pm
Jebson710 Jebson710 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Posts: 10
Default kipn problems

I'm quite the noob to glass blowing and have never owned a kiln before. I recently bought a paragon f120 with a sentry xpress 5.0 controller. Its a 120v kipn yet ive been hving nothing but problems, ive finally managed to get it to run up to the desired temp but now after about an hour or so it'll go over the alloted temp and then shut off. I don't know much about electricity type stuff and was hoping anyone might now the cause of this. Thank you so much for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2020-05-29, 8:01pm
rainygrrl's Avatar
rainygrrl rainygrrl is offline
dances with ideas...
 
Join Date: Sep 15, 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 2,301
Default

Hi there, and welcome.

I know nothing about that kiln, but when my chili pepper with a different controller has had a problem, it has been the relay. Once it would shut down while coming up to temp. That was a problem with the heating element. On my kiln these are things that I can replace myself.

That is the extent of my knowledge, but others will chime in. Good luck!
__________________
Roberta
"Excels at making things more complex than they need to be"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2020-05-29, 8:34pm
Jebson710 Jebson710 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for your reply! I havent had any issues getting it up to temp, I did at first but it had to do with the amount of power it was getting, I was able to fix that but now it'll get up to temp and then after a while go over what I set it too and then it shuts off/becomes unresponsive. It can usually run at 1050 f for about an hour or so before going over and turning off.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2020-05-29, 9:54pm
KJohn's Avatar
KJohn KJohn is offline
Slogan Challenged...
 
Join Date: Mar 21, 2009
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 5,357
Default

have you checked the programming?
Is there a clicking noise from the relay?
Hope you can get it sorted out
__________________
Kristin ~

Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Etsy:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2020-05-30, 5:10am
Speedslug's Avatar
Speedslug Speedslug is offline
Phill
 
Join Date: Mar 21, 2009
Location: Winnebago, MN
Posts: 2,168
Default

I have heard that Paragon were really good at walking kiln owners through troubleshoot problems while on the phone and sending out replacement parts quickly when needed and following up with walking you through the repair once the part gets to you.

I would give them a call.

And I second the idea that it might be a program glitch.

Did you get the kiln new or did you get it from someone used?
Could be that a used machine might have an old program running and it is just doing what it thinks it is supposed to.

Good luck and please come back and teach us what you learned about it.
__________________
Perpetually Pessimistic. I wish I was Pleasantly Surprised but I'm not surprised anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2020-05-30, 7:09am
dragonart glass's Avatar
dragonart glass dragonart glass is offline
just another glass addict
 
Join Date: Feb 06, 2006
Location: behind the redwood curtain in the forest protected by Ewoks
Posts: 383
Default

Phill is right, call paragon. They are usually very happy to help. I have found kiln companies to be very helpful. They want your equipment to work.
__________________
Polly

"Confidence, like art, never comes from having all the answers; it comes from being open to all the questions."
-Earl Gray Stevens-

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2020-05-30, 8:07am
Jebson710 Jebson710 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks you guys! Yes I am going to give them a call next chance I get. It is a brand new kiln with newest sentry controller. There is a clicking from the relay, what does that mean? Sorry guys like I said i know almost nothing but you guys have been awesome. Any additional info would be great, and once I've given a call I will come back with my results!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2020-05-30, 9:08am
echeveria's Avatar
echeveria echeveria is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 31, 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,952
Default

If it is a brand new kiln, they will absolutely help you. They walked me through checking my controller, which ultimately had to be replaced. They shipped a new one to me, and then walked me through installing it. All was under warranty, and it has been fine since then.

The relay clicks as it turns on and off to regulate the temperature.

Can you list the steps in your program from beginning to end? Maybe we can confirm or eliminate that as the problem.
__________________
Kathy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2020-05-30, 9:28am
Jebson710 Jebson710 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Posts: 10
Default

So from idle I click start and then choose speed, i tend to use speed 3, then i enter the hold time for qbout 4 hours, and then it will say ramp hold so I input 0, then it just says start and begins the heating process. It doesn't have any issues heating up, it will just go over temperature after a couple hours and then shut itself off/become unresponsive
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2020-05-30, 2:47pm
echeveria's Avatar
echeveria echeveria is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 31, 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,952
Default

Hmm. I would have to check out how you do the programs on the new Sentry. On my 3 button, there are several segments I need to go through. Mine is a 2.0 I think so pretty old. It has 9 programs that I set myself - nothing pre-programmed, and each one has I think 4 ramp speed/temp/hold segments.
__________________
Kathy
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2020-06-01, 4:45pm
Jebson710 Jebson710 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Posts: 10
Default

I finally recieved an email from paragon saying that they think its the controller, they've sent a new one in replacement,thank you everyone for your help and responses!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kiln, sentry xpress


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 6:21pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Your IP: 3.81.28.10