Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2012-06-28, 4:52pm

Default Help Smoky glass

I have a hot head torch and a fireworks torch. Right now I am using the hot head but my whites, light pinks and clears keep getting smokey. I read other threads, and did everything and still I am getting smokey colors. Can someone please help me?
Old 2012-06-28, 6:29pm
Senior Moment

Howdy!

I'm no expert, but maybe I can help.

I started on a Fireworks torch too, and I could never get clean white and light color beads from it; they always scorched. But I generally do not have a problem with the Hotheads.

You've probably been through this, but just to review:

How big is the candle (the blue part of the flame at the bottom) on your flame? I generally keep mine between 1-2 inches, depending on what type of glass I'm melting. You can see what I mean here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UfNz4OOVcr0 please excuse my new yawk accent!

How far do you melt the glass from the top of the candle? I usually keep the glass i am melting between 1-2 inches above the candle; closer for stiffer glasses, further for soft glass like white.

Has anything fallen into the head of the torch, like a shard of glass or something? Off chance, but it could play a role.

Hope this helps as a start!
Alli
Old 2012-06-29, 8:26am
Glass-aholic

I think you still need to work slower and further out from the torch head. white pink and clear are notorious for doing this on a HH. Heck, I can still do this on a minor to these colors. They are too easy to soot up.

remember the torch needs to be loud and turned up at least 1/2 way. It is a combustion torch. It draws in air to make the flame what it is. The lower the flame the less air it is sucking in. The flame is cleaner with more air, so turn it up, and work farther out.