Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2011-05-11, 12:50am
picking Job's Tears

Default Upgrading from Hothead, what torch do or don't I want?

Hi all,

I don't post outside the Bathroom and the Game Room often these days, so please forgive me if I kinda barge in here.

I'm a perpetual newbie at this time and my glass control sucks (but has gotten better) and my heat control is worse. I don't want to melt boro in the foreseeable future.

The three torches I thought about the most are the Minor, Cricket and Bobcat.

I PMed Kalera last night (she is the one here who I have known the longest) and part of her recommendation (I won't tell you the rest to not preempt suggestions) was to post in the forums. I checked the tips and techniques and the torch questions forums (and will post there too, in one of them ), and didn't find anything recent that would apply to me. I took a class (3 years ago) on a minor and I'm not really sure it would offer me a lot over the Hothead I got (other than the noise of the torch going away, but there's the added noise of the oxycon, the class was using tanks). When the Cricket first came out I was sure I wanted one but I'm not so sure anymore after what I have read in the meantime. Another one I have thought about is the Bobcat.

I'm getting Mary Miller's (used) Invacare 5 and we had a long conversation about torches among other things. She told me "you don't want a Minor, you'd be buying a new torch on 6 months" (and I can see that, even 3 years later). She loved her 'mini max' and was sorry for me that she already sold it.

Any thoughts appreciated.

Thanks,
Maren
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-