Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2007-03-06, 12:51pm

Default Encasing!! problem with sides?

Is there a technique for just normal encasing, i cant seem to get the clear around to the sides even when i apply it thickly
Old 2007-03-06, 12:59pm
Ass-kicking Cephalopod

I had the same problem until I started heating the ends before the middle and tilting it in the direction I wanted the clear to travel. Aim at the corner of the bead, hitting the encasing on the edge also.

Disclaimer - I am a newbie and this is how I solved my problem. Someone will likely have a better solution

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

DOG is my co-pilot
Cricket w/two 5 lpm oxycons - and sometimes a Minor.
Old 2007-03-06, 1:01pm

If it worked for you its good enough for me )
will give it another go!
Old 2007-03-06, 1:01pm
Viking Flame Keeper

Spot heat the clear, and only the clear, and use a tool to push the glass down towards the mandrel. It usually takes me 5-6 heat-push glass on each side of the bead.

There are 10 kinds of people, those who understand binary and those who don't.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2007-03-06, 1:03pm

The glass will flow to where the heat is directed. So if you keep your flame focused on the center of the bead - that's where the glass will stay.

I know there are lots of methods of encasing. What works best for me is to focus the heat on the clear wrap near the ends first - then work towards the center, finishing by working back out towards the ends.

My lightbulb moment for encasing was - if your design disappears, you've gotten the base bead too hot.
Old 2007-03-06, 1:09pm
Ass-kicking Cephalopod

Quote: